Summer of Improvements in the Tiki Lounge

Standard

I’ve been remiss in not writing more this summer. But that doesn’t mean it hasn’t been a busy time here in A. Panda’s Tiki Lounge. Actually, I’ve been quite busy sprucing up the place. It all started with a need to carve out a new office space for my day job, and then just grew from there. Since a picture’s worth a thousand words, here are a few to show you what’s new.

Compass Energy Bethlehem OfficeWelcome to my new office. When our company was acquired by Constellation Energy, I was asked to choose between commuting to Baltimore or working from home. I chose the latter. If you have to work from home, you might as well do it in style – Tiki style! A thatch roof, grass skirt around my desk, Tikis holding up my speakers, and a blowfish guarding the point are just a few of the Tiki touches in my new workspace. And it doesn’t hurt having a Tiki bar 5 feet away.

Mid-Century Modern Christmas Corner I’ve always wanted an aluminum Christmas tree. I finally got one after Christmas last year, and decided to dedicate a small space in the front corner of the Tiki Lounge as its home. I found a cool atomic clock for my birthday last year and this was also the prefect space for it. I spent all spring and summer finding vintage ornaments for the tree, mostly on Etsy and eBay. Etsy was also where I found this wonderful atomic fabric for the curtains, which hide the access spaces on either side of the movie screen. By the way, I made the curtains myself, without any sewing.

Bamboo Tiki Mug Shelf Speaking of that atomic fabric, here’s the rest of it hiding the space behind my new Tiki mug shelf. I’d been meaning to finish off the small section of unfinished wall between the SHAG Home Theatre and the Tiki bar, and I didn’t want to just hang more plain drywall, so voila: a new home for my growing collection of Tiki mugs. I framed the shelves with 2×6 lumber, and capped it with some scrap bamboo from the canopy to my 2nd Tiki bar that I never put up. The fabric behind it really makes it pop, don’t you think?

SHAG Pink Panther WallOn the other side of the bamboo Tiki mug shelf, I decided to build a small wall to further delineate the boundary between the home theatre and the Tiki bar. This orange wall does double duty. First, it gives me a place to stash another bookshelf (hidden in this view), upon which I can display more panda and Tiki collectibles. Second, it allows me to hang my SHAG Pink Panther 40th Anniversary poster, which I hadn’t found a space for since vacating my old office. I have a long tradition of building new walls here in the Tiki Longe whenever I have new art to display. Why stop now?

So, if a picture’s worth 1,000 words, what’s a video worth? I’ll leave it to you to decide. Here’s a little walk-through in A. Panda’s Tiki Lounge, as it currently looks. I hope you’ll come join me for a Mai-Tai soon. Aloha!  

2 thoughts on “Summer of Improvements in the Tiki Lounge

    • Thanks Arron! Full disclosure: I’m really an Eagles fan, but my old boss gave me the Packers mini-helmet when I visited DePere WI for work 2 years ago. I do like the Packers, though.

Leave a Reply

